On this day, the word will be tech. Tech like the tech that's taken over our lives, like the syllable in Tech-ka market but probably doesn't have a place there. Tech unlike Tech-en which I know remains cool even though I haven't played in the longest time and I don't know where our PS
1 is. Tech like the drug that we're all addicted to and can't be without. Tech with the ugly withdrawal symptoms.
Welcome to Techolics Anonymous.
I wanted to wait till I got all the tech rage out of my system before I started writing but to hell with it, why not. No more tech rage though, just tech
spent - mentally and emotionally, which has manifested outwardly physically. Think about how much of our lives we're really dedicating to information technology - money and time especially. Heck, I want to apply for a job at an IT company (more on that another time, and if ever I decide to actually move forward with it).
In a way, life was easier back when tech was merely a part of our lives and not
the actual life. It was something we amused ourselves with for a while but eventually put down in pursuit of other more enjoyable, important things. It was one aspect, but it didn't permeate our lives. What really frustrates me, I suppose, is when things spiral out of my control and I can't do anything about it - you just have to wait for somebody else to fix it, you just have to wait for it to fix itself, you just have to not do anything because there is nothing you can do.
That's what frustrates me - like I'm a slave to this life, these hobbies, these extracurricular activities. With manual, you had control. You could
physically change things, but now - nope, not gonna happen. Wring your hands, fiddle with your fingers, stare at the spinning rainbow circle of doom, tap taP tAP SMACK your unresponsive keyboard - things are not yours to change, not yours to improve, not yours to fix.
Ah, what a rant - talk to me again when I'm not fed up with this tech-reliant life. I swear I'll have positive, more sensible things to say but for now ...